

Coalfield Geology Council of New South Wales

HISTORY OF THE COALFIELD GEOLOGY COUNCIL | COMMITTEE Committee members past and present

Contents

Coalfield Geology Council of NSW Committee	1
Current committee	1
Historical office bearers	2

Coalfield Geology Council of NSW Committee

The Coalfield Geology Council of New South Wales was formed in 1961 originally as the Standing Committee on Coalfield Geology of New South Wales.

In 2001, a history of the Standing Committee on Coalfield Geology of NSW and its successor, the Coalfield Geology Council of NSW, was written by Anton Crouch.

The role of the Coalfield Geology Council of NSW Committee is to deal with business between meetings. During the biennial June meeting members elect and vote for a chairperson and executives for the next two years.

Historical office bearers

Table 1 History of Coalfield Geology Council Chairpersons

Chairpersons		Active
Joe Whiting	Geological Survey of NSW	Oct 1961 – Mar 1963
Ken Mosher	Joint Coal Board	Mar 1963 – Mar 1965
Cliff McElroy	University of NSW	Mar 1965 – Mar 1967
Ron Wilson	AIS, Wollongong	Mar 1967 – Mar 1969
Owen Shiels	Joint Coal Board	Mar 1969 – Jun 1971
Ken Mosher	Conzinc Rio Tinto	Jun 1971 – Mar 1973
Bill Parkhill	BHP, Newcastle	Mar 1973 – Mar 1975
Michelle Smyth	CSIRO	Mar 1975 – Mar 1977
Brian Robinson	Joint Coal Board	Mar 1977 – Mar 1979
Peter Goodwin	BP Clutha	Mar 1979 – Jun 1981
Brian Vitnell	Coal & Allied	Jun 1981 – Jun 1981
Anton Crouch	Anton Crouch and partners	Jun 1983 – Jun 1985
Colin Ward	University of NSW	Jun 1985 – Jun 1987
Frank Stoddart	BHP, Newcastle	Jun 1987 – Jun 1989
Rod Davis	MEGS	Jun 1989 – Jun 1991
Carl Webber	Pacific Power	Jun 1991 – Jun 1993
Beau Preston	Coal & Allied	Jun 1993 – Jun 1995
Harry Bowman	Coal Compensation Board	Jun 1995 – Jun 1997
Rod Doyle	Shell	Jun 1997 – Jun 1999
Andrew Newland	Newtuk	Jun 1999 – Jun 2001
Michael Creech	Powercoal	Jun 2001 – Jun 2003
John Edwards	Private Member	Jun 2003 – Jun 2005
Harry Bowman	Coal Compensation Board	Jun 2005 – Jun 2007
Peter Hatherly	University of Sydney	Jun 2007 – Jun 2009
Malcolm Ives	Centennial Coal	Jun 2009 – Jun 2011
Chris Knight	Muswellbrook Coal	Jun 2011 – Jun 2013
Mark Dawson	Whitehaven Coal	June 2013 - June 2015
Monica Davis	MD Geology	June 2015 – June 2017
Mark Dawson/Chris Knight (Acting Chairpersons)	Countrywide Mining and Exploration/Muswellbrook Coal	June 2015 – June 2017
Agi Burra	Glencore	June 2017 – Jun 2019
Peter Holloway	Centennial Coal	June 2019 – June 2023
Marcus Trost	Measured Group	June 2023 - Current

Table 2 History of Coalfield Geology Council Secretaries

Secretaries	Active		
Cliff McElroy	Oct 1961 - Jun 1962		
Jeannette Adrian (assistant secretary)	Oct 1961 - Jun 1968		
Rowley Brunker	Jun 1962 - Sep 1962		
Ken Wood	Sep 1962 - Sep 1969		
Mal Bunny	Sep 1962 - Jun 1970		
lan Menzies	Jun 1970 - Mar 1977		
Jenny Thomson	Mar 1977 - Jun 1981		
Carl Weber	Jun 1981 - Sep 1984		
Vic Tadros	Sep 1984 - Jun 1985		
Chris Baker	Jun 1985 - Jun 1991		
Mike Armstrong	Jun 1991 - Jun 2004		
Kim Bayly (minutes secretary)	1991 - 2004		
Julie Moloney	Sept 2004 - Dec 2004		
Jane Condell (minutes secretary)	Mar 2005 - Jun 2005		
Phil Gilmore (minutes secretary)	Sep 2005		
Jane Condell (minutes secretary)	Dec 2005 - Mar 2006		
Russell Rigby (minutes secretary)	Jun 2006		
Shirley Hibbs	Sept 2006 - Dec 2008		
Malcolm Ives	Mar 2009		
Sarah Jardine	Jun 2009 - Mar 2015		
Laura Jack	March 2015 – Jun 2017		
Erin Holmes	June 2017 – June 2023		
Polina Zvezdina	June 2023 - Current		

Table 3 History of Coalfield Geology Council Treasurers

Treasurer	Active
Cheryl Holz	June 2021 – Current
Note - Treasurer role introduced 2021	

Table 4 History of Coalfield Geology Council Executives

Executives	Active
Anton Crouch, Ron Wilson	Dec 1979 - Jun 1981
Ken Mosher, Ron Wilson	Jun 1981 - Jun 1983
Brian Vitnell, Colin Ward	Jun 1983 - Jun 1985
Anton Crouch, Frank Stoddart	Jun 1985 - Jun 1985
Ken Brown, Colin Ward	Jun 1985 - Jun 1987
Ken Brown, Bill Knox	Jun 1989 - Jun 1991
Beau Preston, Andy Williams	Jun 1991 - Jun 1993
Harry Bowman, John Rogis	Jun 1993 - Jun 1995
Ron Royd, Tony Osman	Jun 1995 - Jun 1997
Adrian Hutton, Andrew Newland	Jun 1997 - Jun 1999
Michael Creech, Ted Houston	Jun 1999 - Jun 2001

History of the Coalfield Geology Council of NSW - Committee

Executives	Active
John Edwards, John Lea, Ted Houston	Jun 2001 - Jun 2003
Peter Hatherly, Mal Bunny	Jun 2003 - Jun 2005
Malcolm Bocking, Peter Hatherly	Jun 2005 - Jun 2007
Paul Gresham, Darren Hope, Mark Howes, Shaun Ayshford	Jun 2007 - Jun 2009
Peter Hatherly, Chris Knight, Darren Hope, Paul Gresham	Jun 2009 - Jun 2011
Elsie Gretton, Kaydy Pinetown, Darren Hope, Malcolm Ives	Jun 2011 - Jun 2013
Chris Knight , Kaydy Pinetown, Darren Hope, Monica Davis	Jun 2013 - Jun 2015
Chris Knight , Kaydy Pinetown, Marianne Harvey, Mark Dawson	Jun 2015 - Jun 2017
Cheryl Holz, Shaun Aysford, Ben Graham / Peter Holloway, Mark Dawson	Jun 2017 – Jun 2019
Cheryl Holz, Tom Bradbury, Gary Salter, Kate Woodward, Gareth Johnson	Jun 2019 – Jun 2021
Tom Bradbury, Kate Woodward, Thomas Dubos, Marcus Trost	Jun 2021 – Jun 2023
Lynne Banwell, Peter Leah, Rebecca Jackson, Rick Walker	Jun 2023 - Current